Christian Life · Faith

Making Friends at a New Church!

Hey there!

Moving to a new church can be daunting. Maybe you just moved to a new city and know nobody. Maybe you felt called to move to a new ministry.  Either way, knowing nobody and walking into that church can be frightening.

I had a similar situation recently. I wasn’t necessarily new to this church, but it had been so long since I had attended that I found very few people that I knew. I definitely wouldn’t have called any of the people my friends. I’ll just put my biggest word of advice right now: GET INVOLVED! Very rarely will you meet anybody if you walk in the church, attend service, and leave. You may leave feeling convicted, feeling empowered in your faith, but it isn’t sustainable. Proverbs 27:17 tells us “As iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another.” If you do not have that community with fellow Christians, you can only grow to a certain point in faith.

Getting involved may look different in your life than mine. When I moved back to Colorado, I jumped head first into our church. I volunteer with our youth, getting to know those fellow leaders and our youth pastor, developing friendships through that. I joined our Young Adults group, developing a circle of friends who are my peers, going through similar things in our lives, but coming together and joining in friendship through our mutual love of Jesus. Maybe you don’t fit in a young adult or youth demographic. That’s fine. What’s your niche? Maybe its joining a men’s or women’s group at someone’s house. Maybe you volunteer in your church’s cafe or work with the underprivileged in your area with your church.

Whatever you feel is your place to get plugged in, do it! It’s amazing what friendships develop when you get involved in your church community and grow with each other in your faith. Remember, we were not made to be alone, to go through this journey alone. I’ll leave you with this verse from Ecclesiastes 4:9-10, “Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their labor: If they fall down, they can help each other up. But pity those who fall and have no one to help them up!” You don’t have to go through this journey alone. Remember, if you aren’t the type to seek out friendships directly, get involved and they will happen.

Leave a Reply

